What kinda Fish Are You Catching?

Recently I went night fishing with a friend. Wow, under the beautiful full moon he began to pull them in one after the other. After his third fish I prayed. “Lord, please, I want to catch a fish too, please, nothing major just a fish.” Then I began to think about how the Lord would maybe let me catch a big fish or even a shark or something really cool. As I continued to daydream about the type and size of fish the Lord was going to let me catch,… it happened. Wow! What excitement! This creature was really putting up quite the fight. As i reeled the monstrous beast closer to shore my mind began to create all sorts of expectations. Could this be indicative of how the Lord wanted to bless me in my business, could the Lord be showing me what great things He would do with my life, could the size and beauty of this fish be in direct proportion to the precious wife the Lord would give me?

Finally pulling the creature to shore, my friend and I stared under the full moon at one of the ugliest, toad looking fish that you ever did see. Man the thing looked like a devil. I referred to it as the ugly toad devil fish. I immediately knew why I was not catching any fish, I knew why I had caught this toad fish. Sin. Yes, sin in my life. I fell, no dove into looking at something inappropriate for a grown, much less a grown Christian man to be looking at.

Do you want to be used by the Lord. We must keep ourselves clean. “But as he which hath called you is holy, so be ye holy in all manner of conversation; Because it is written, Be ye holy; for I am holy.” 1 Peter 1:15-16

Do you want to catch Fish? Matthew 4:19 “Follow me and I will make you fishers of men.”

Christ exhorts us to follow Him another time in Matthew 16:24 “Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.” Further Jesus warns us, “And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me.”

What does Christ mean by exhorting us to “deny yourself” & “take up your cross”? Simply repent and submit yourself before God. Deny your flesh. Sin is pleasurable for a season and then destruction. Galatians 6:8.

“Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded.” James 4:7-8

Literally pick up your cross and follow Christ, denying your flesh and walking in the Spirit. “Ye have not yet resisted unto blood, striving against sin.” Hebrews 12:4

The time is short, are you catching Fish? What are you doing with your talents, have you buried them? Do not let your lamps run out of oil, trim your wicks, do not miss the wedding banquet. Do not be a tree that does not bear fruit and is good for nothing but to be cast into the fire. Do not be luke warm, Be “ON FIRE” for Christ and His Glorious Gospel.

If you do not share the Gospel, will you still go to heaven?

~ by 1voicecrying on November 29, 2007.

5 Responses to “What kinda Fish Are You Catching?”

  1. DON’T THESE FASCISTS HAVE ANYTHING BETTER TO DO WITH THEIR TIME …. THAN HARASSING AND BASHING OTHER CHURCHES AND MINISTRIES??? WHO MADE THEM JUDGE AND JURY OF THE BRETHREN???

    ISAIAH 5:18-21

    “8 Woe to those who drag iniquity with the cords of falsehood, And sin as if with cart ropes; 19 Who say, “Let Him make speed, let Him hasten His work, that we may see {it;} And let the purpose of the Holy One of Israel draw near And come to pass, that we may know {it!}” 20 Woe to those who call evil good, and good evil; Who substitute darkness for light and light for darkness; Who substitute bitter for sweet and sweet for bitter! 21 WOE TO THOSE WHO ARE WISE IN THEIR OWN EYES AND CLEVER IN THEIR OWN SIGHT!! [Caps mine ]”

    THE BLOG ‘FASCISTS’ HAVE STRUCK YET … AGAIN!!! ALL OPPOSING VIEWS AND ‘RESPONSE’ POSTS HAVE BEEN REMOVED

    READER BEWARE!!

    THIS BLOG IS A SHAM AND A FARCE!! IT IS RUN AND HOSTED BY PSEUDO CHRISTIAN ‘FASCISTS’!!!

    THIS BLOG IS NOTHING MORE THAN PSEUDO CHRISTIAN FASCIST PROPAGANDA MEANT TO ‘DIVIDE AND DESTROY’ THE TRUE BODY OF CHRIST!!

    BEWARE ….. BEWARE ….. BEWARE ……BEWARE!!

    YOUR OPPOSING VIEWS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED NOR TOLERATED HERE!!

    AND ANY SEMBLANCE OF TRUTH WHICH CONTRADICTS THE BLOG NAZIS POINT OF VIEW WILL IMMEDIATELY BE REMOVED!!

  2. HH, Thank you, I agree.

    Billy Graham, Bob Coy, CCFL or anyone else who would spreads lies about our Lord Jesus we should exhort others to beware of them. Oh yes, than you for pointing out, Billy G. does spread falsehood saying that all will be granted entrance into heaven. I’m so glad you see the false teaching; Billy Graham is an heretic and an heretic is certainly not a brother.

    “Do ye not know that the saints shall judge the world?” 1 Corinthians 6:2. In fact Billy G. is a son of the devil, for the devil says, “Whether they are conscious of it or not, they are members of the body of Christ. They may not even know the name of Jesus, even muslims, buhdists, christians, non-believers, no matter, they will be in heaven.” What a lie from the pit of hell.

    “Beware of false prophets, which come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravening wolves.” Matthew 7:15.

    “Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” John 14:6

    “Ye are of your father the devil, and the lusts of your father ye will do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and abode not in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaketh a lie, he speaketh of his own: for he is a liar, and the father of it.” John 8:44 Unfortunately Billy Graham is calling Jesus a liar, when really Billy Graham is a liar.

  3. By the way, HH, you did not answer the question, What kinda fish are you catching?

  4. 1voice,
    Great fishing that night! Man that fish tasted goooood! Bro, remember that God can use us in spite of ourselves. I know it’s hard to believe, but I too have sinned. Praise God that your heart is soft and that you are crying out as David did for God to show you if there is any wickedness in you. Truth be told, there were many times when I went home without any fish, despite my pleas to God, and I often was drawn to consider the sin in my own life.

    My prayers is that many Christians and pastors would have that same desire to seek God and to remain pure… and even more so to GO OUT AND CATCH SOME FISH instead of waiting for the fish to jump in the boat!

  5. Praise God, He will tell us on which side to cast our nets.

Leave a comment